Board of Directors

Open Board Meetings

Brock Community Health Centre (Brock CHC) invites members of the public to attend meetings of the Board of Directors.  The organization values a close working relationship with all stakeholders including the public and will conduct Board business in an open and transparent manner.  The Board may exercise its right to hold “in camera” or special meetings that will not be open to the public where it determines it is in the best interests of the organization to do so.

The agenda of the Board meeting will be distributed at each meeting.  Support material will only be provided to the Board of Directors.  In order to ensure sufficient space is available, individuals wishing to attend a Brock CHC Board meeting must give 24 hours notice to the Board secretary by calling 705-432-3322.  Attendees will be asked to identify themselves.  Individuals wishing to make a deputation must notify the Board secretary at least seven days in advance of the scheduled meeting.  Deputations will be limited to five minutes.  Members of the public may address the Board or ask questions of the Board only when permission is granted by the Board Chair.

Recording devices, videotaping and photography are prohibited.

Please click here to view Brock CHC Board of Directors meeting dates, times and locations for September 2017 through to June 2018.


Community-Based Governance

Ted Smith is Chair of the Board.  He has extensive board and volunteer experience having contributed to such organizations as Sunderland Coop, Durham Dairy Producers, Durham 4-H Association, Sunderland Agricultural Society, Sunderland Historical Society, and many more.  Ted is currently the Township of Brock Regional Councillor.  He has been Chair of the Township of Brock Finance Committee, Committee of Adjustment, Negotiating Committee and other committees.  Ted is also a member of the Board of the Kawartha Conservation Authority.  He is a resident of the Sunderland area.

Terri Donovan is Vice-Chair of the Board.  She is a resident of Beaverton.  Prior volunteer experience has included serving on the Beaverton Figure Skating Club Board.  Terri has over 15 years of experience working in healthcare and is currently employed as Quality Improvement Specialist at Health Quality Ontario.  Previously she held positions in staff education and recreation and therapy services in long-term care facilities in Midhurst, Oshawa, Fenelon Falls and Beaverton.  Terri holds a degree in Physical Education/English from Wilfrid Laurier University, and a Certificate in Quality Management from University of Manitoba.  She holds a Lean Six Sigma Black Belt designation in Quality Improvement.

Brenda Stewart is Secretary of the Board.  She is a lifetime resident of Brock Township.  Brenda has worked at Chimo Youth and Family Services for many years where she was supervisor of the girls’ residence and is currently Durham School Programs Supervisor.  She has been a member of the board of Women’s Resources in Lindsay, including being board chair for one year.  Brenda has volunteered with North Durham Hospice.  She lives in Beaverton and has been a strong advocate for community partnerships and making north Durham a better place to live.

William Basztyk is Treasurer of the Board.  He is CEO/President of Interpro Bioscience Inc., CEO/Chairman of 4UGO Inc. Marketing Group and Principal Designer with Kinetic Tech.  William a retired professor with the Faculty of Business, George Brown College.  He holds several degrees in business, finance, bio-chemistry and 2 and 3 dimensional design and technology.  In addition, he was Hon. Consul for Canada and Head of Post, Consulate of Suriname.  He is currently a member of the Brock Economic Development Committee, the council of directors of the Brock Board of Trade, and has been treasurer and director with the Town of York Historical Society.  He is a resident of Beaverton area.

Laura Parliament is a Member at Large on the Board.  She is a resident of Sunderland having been a lifelong resident in Brock Township.  Laura is a registered nurse with an interest in community health, particularly the health needs of an aging population.  Her experience has included being a recreation volunteer with Lakeview Manor and a volunteer with Habitat For Humanity and the CNSA Conference Committee.

Ted Foster is retired from his 30 year career as a senior urban affairs policy advisor with the Provincial Ministry of Municipal Affairs.  He is a charter Brock CHC Board member having served as Board Chair for two years and several years as Vice-Chair of the Board and Chair of the Facilities Committee.  Ted has extensive volunteer experience as President of the Cannington Historical Society.  He is a resident of Cannington.

John Grant is a resident of Beaverton where he co-owns two businesses.  With a longstanding commitment to community service, he has served as a volunteer and leader for numerous organizations and service groups including:  Beaverton Thorah Health Centre Board of Directors; Brock Non-Profit Housing; Royal Canadian Legion, Branch 135; Kinsmen; Beaverton Canada Day Committee; Beaverton/Cannington Arthritis Society; Beaverton District Conservation Club; Beaverton and District Chamber of Commerce, Thorah Island Ratepayer’s Association; Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority; Beaver River Trail Committee; and more.  He is currently Chair of the Cottage and Country Bed and Breakfast Network and a volunteer with Brock’s Big Bite.  John was elected Township of Brock’s Mayor in 2014.  He has also served as a Brock Township Councillor and Regional Councillor.

Gene Laundrie has been a resident of Beaverton, in Brock Township, for thirty-six years.  He has been a volunteer Board Member with Brain Injury Services Barrie for twenty-four years.  As an accident survivor since 1987, Gene has a personal interest in helping others navigate the health and social services systems to get the help they need.

Paul Nelson is retired from his 40 year career in the civil engineering/construction/project management field.  He has extensive volunteer board experience over the past 35 years in community housing, libraries, and municipal hydro, as well as additional volunteer experience in youth sports, community fundraising, social housing, and emergency shelters.  Paul is a recipient of the 1992 Canada 125 Medal for Community Service, is currently a member of the Durham Energy From Waste Advisory Committee, and is a resident of Beaverton.

Debbie Skinner-Marquis has 31 years of experience as a registered practical nurse working in a variety of settings including acute care hospitals, community-based nursing, long-term care and teaching.  She is currently the Resident Assessment Instrument/Minimum Data Set/Educational Coordinator at Port Perry Place.  She has a diverse background in nursing, counselling, education, RAI/MDS, restorative care, palliative care, wound care and quality improvement.  Debbie won the Ontario Long Term Care Excellence Award 2016 for “Leadership in Nursing”.  She has worked on special projects with the Canadian Red Cross and the City of Peterborough.  She is a resident of Sunderland.


Election to Brock CHC’s Board of Directors

Qualified members of Brock Community Health Centre are eligible to be considered for election to the Brock CHC Board of Directors at the Annual General Meeting.  If you are interested in being considered for election to the Brock CHC Board of Directors, please download, print and complete the Board Recruitment Questionnaire and return to Janet McPherson, Executive Director, Brock Community Health Centre, P.O. 279, 720 Simcoe Street, Beaverton, Ontario, L0K 1A0 or email to